Saturday, January 30, 2010

Synopsis’s for First Three Eleventh Doctor Books

BBC Books have recently revealed the official synopsis’s for the three upcoming Doctor Who books, set for release in April, which are the first to feature the Eleventh Doctor and companion Amy Pond. The Eleventh Doctor’s first three books were confirmed last month by BBC Books as the following; Apollo 23 by Justin Richards, Night of the Humans by David Llewellyn, and The Forgotten Army by Brian Minchin.

BBC Books have also confirmed that the Eleventh Doctor, with companion Amy Pond, will also be appearing in the relaunched range of Decide your Destiny when released on the Twenty Ninth of April. BBC Books also have confirmed that the Eleventh Doctor’s book adventures will continue with Adorable Illusion, Nuclear Time and The King’s Dragon in July.

Apollo 23 Synopsis.

‘Houston – we have a problem.’

An astronaut in full spacesuit appears out of thin air in a busy shopping centre. Maybe it’s a publicity stunt. A photo shows an immaculately-dressed woman in her best shoes lying dead at the edge of a crater on the dark side of the moon – beside her beloved dog ‘Poochie’. Maybe it’s a hoax. But as the Doctor and Amy find out, these are just minor events in a sinister plan to take over every human being on earth. The plot centres on a secret military base on the moon – that’s where Amy and the TARDIS are. The Doctor is back on Earth, and without the TARDIS there’s no way he can get to the moon to save Amy and defeat the aliens.

Or is there? The Doctor discovers one last great secret that could save humanity: Apollo 23.

Night of the Humans Synopsis.

‘‘This is the Gyre – the most hostile environment in the galaxy.’

250,000 years’ worth of junk floating in deep space, home to the shipwrecked Sittuun, the carnivorous Sollogs, and worst of all – the Humans. The Doctor and Amy arrive on this terrifying world in the middle of an all-out frontier war between Sittuun and Humans, and the clock is already ticking. There’s a comet in the sky, and it’s on a collision course with the Gyre...When the Doctor is kidnapped, it’s up to Amy and “galaxy-famous swashbuckler” Dirk Slipstream to save the day.

But who is Slipstream, exactly? And what is he really doing here?

The Forgotten Army Synopsis.

‘Let me tell you a story. Long ago, in the frozen Arctic wastes, an alien army landed. Only now, 10,000 years later, it isn’t a story. And the army is ready to attack.’

New York – one of the greatest cities on 21st century Earth. But what’s going on in the Museum? And is that really a Woolly Mammoth rampaging down Broadway? An ordinary day becomes a time of terror, as Ice Age creatures come back to life, and the Doctor and Amy meet a new and deadly enemy. The vicious Army of the Vykoid are armed to the teeth and determined to enslave the human race. Even though they’re only three inches high. With the Doctor kidnapped, and the Vykoid army swarming across Manhattan and sealing it from the world with a powerful alien forcefield, Amy has just 24 hours to find the Doctor and save the city. If she doesn’t, the people of Manhattan will be taken to work in the doomed asteroid mines of the Vykoid home planet.

But as time starts to run out, who can she trust? And how far will she have to go to free New York from the Forgotten Army?

Apollo 23, Night of the Humans and The Forgotten Army will be released by BBC Books on the Twenty Second of April for the price of £6.99 around the United Kingdom and Ireland. The Eleventh Doctor and Amy Pond will make their official television debut sometime this Spring on BBC One, plus BBC HD, with filming currently continuing on the Eleventh Doctor's first series.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Is there a BBC Books site displaying these synopses? I'd like to have an official source so that I can add them to TARDIS Wiki.